Creative and Performing Arts Center
ABOUT Creative and Performing Arts Center Inc.

CAPAC'S mission statement - Founded in 2002, the Creative and Performing Arts Center (CAPAC) is the premier non-profit performing arts institution in Northern Virginia. As an organization devoted to its mission of increasing arts appreciation and cultural awareness in the Washington, D.C metropolitan area, CAPAC develops extraordinary theatrical productions that emphasize the rich cultural and ethnic traditions of people of color. CAPAC provides creative expression opportunities for diverse people of all age groups through acting, singing, dancing, creative writing and community engagement to cultivate the next generation of theatre professionals, artists and audiences.

CAPAC's Strategic Planning Team
From left to right starting in the front: Desirea Moore-Mitchell, Loretta Freeman, Denise M. McPhail, Vernell Lewis, Sheila Anderson, Dana Hill, Evelyn Kershaw, Tommy Johnson, William "Bill" Reeder, Gerry Griffin, Catrina Stroman and Deidre Crawford. Not Pictured: Crystal Arful-Addoh, Tyrell Lashley and Harriet Parker

CAPAC'S history - CAPAC began March 16, 2002, in Prince William County, Virginia, by a group of concerned citizens led by Co-Founders Lawrence A. Dulin and Denise M. McPhail. The CAPAC Board of Directors was comprised of citizens throughout the greater Washington, DC, area who understood the need for diversity and artistic enrichment in Prince William County and surrounding areas. The individuals believed something should be done to fill a void for cultural diversity in performing and visual arts in the Greater Prince William County area. From a great deal of discussion by the group, the collective opinion was to start a performing and visual arts program that would provide programming year-round.

CAPAC was originally recognized as a 501(c)(3) non-profit charitable establishment February 11, 2004. CAPAC is an organization for people who love the arts. It is designed for the enjoyment of all people.


Board of Directors

Loretta Freeman, President
Alonzo Wilson, Treasurer
Vernell Lewis, Secretary
Sheila Anderson
Janice Broom Brooks
Deidre Crawford
Gerry Griffin
Desirea Moore-Mitchell
Harriet Parker
Denise McPhail, Co-Founder and Executive Director
Tommy Johnson, Technical Director
Tyrell Lashley, Artistic Director
Catrina Stroman, Choreographer

Marketing Committee

Desirea Moore-Mitchell, Chair
Deidre Crawford, Co-Chair
Stacy Booker, Website Coordinator
Melissa Davis, Social Media Coordinator
Simone McPhail, Graphics Designer
Valerie Oliver, Editor
Marie Williams, Community Outreach Coordinator